Rhonda Cagle

Retracing the Steps of Democracy

In Uncategorized on July 3, 2013 at 1:04 pm

This Fourth of July finds me in our nation’s capitol, retracing the steps of our founding fathers. They dipped their pen into the well of audacity and signed their names to an ideal that had yet to become reality.

I’ve thought a lot about the fortitude it takes to envision what can – and should – be. I’ve thought even more about the courage it takes to withstand the shaking and shifting involved in that process.

Image

My grandmother had that kind of courage. I’m thinking of her as I’m standing beneath the Washington and Lincoln Monuments and celebrating America’s birthday. You can read about it in my latest column for The Arizona Republic. http://t.co/HKXV8IdjRn

Leave a Reply

