Rhonda Cagle

A Backpack Full of Hope

In Uncategorized on July 17, 2013 at 4:33 pm

School supplies mean a lot to a kid. Trust me, I know. As a child who started a new school at least once a year, I grew up learning the value of freshly sharpened yellow No. 2 pencils and a Trapper Keeper full of college-rule notebook paper. These items often earned me a seat at the lunch table or a welcoming conversation with a desk mate.

Image

Photo: GreatSchools.org

Maybe that’s why I have such a soft spot for back-to-school drives for children who struggle to overcome poverty – to feel as if they belong. When you read about the numbers and discover that many of those children live across the street and next door to you and me, I’m hoping you’ll have a soft spot, too.

You can read more about the need and ways to help in my latest column for the Arizona Republic and azcentral. http://t.co/hmGV9EjuX2

Leave a Reply

